Michigan’s Car Seat Laws Explained

Michigan’s-Car-Seat-Laws-Explained

Expert studies have shown that death of children aged between 1 and 13 years of age are caused by fatal car accidents. Despite the existence of state laws requiring adults to install car seats for children, it is sad to know that not everyone follows this rule to the letter.

In Michigan, experts agree that the rate of injuries and deaths among children involved in car accidents could be lower or prevented altogether only if car and booster seats would have been properly installed. For the older children, having them wear seat belts would have been the best preventive measure.

There is more to just simply installing a car or booster seat inside your vehicle. Read on.

Basic Rules

baby-carseat

Car seats should be installed in the back seats if the child is 2 to 4 years old.

In case the back seat is not available, for any reason whatsoever, children aged 0-4 years old may ride in the front seat using a rear facing car seat but the air bag on the front passenger seat should be disabled or turned off.

If the child is aged from 0 to 2 years, they should be in a rear-facing car seat that is installed in the back seat.

Children aged more than 4 years old but no younger than 8 years old should be in a car booster seat that is also installed in the vehicle’s back seat. If the child is taller than 4 feet, he or she should be in a car booster seat.

If the child is big enough to ride without a car booster seat, they should ride in the back seat and properly secured in with a seat belt that has been adjusted to their height.

The best place to install a car seat or booster seat would be in the middle of the back seat.

Penalties for Failing to Comply

policeman-road

If you are found guilty of driving with children in your vehicle that are not properly secured in a car seat, a booster seat, or even the generic seat belt, be prepared to be issued a ticket since this is considered as a violation of Michigan’s child-passenger safety laws.

If found guilty, the fine can differ depending on the judge presiding the court at the time of the hearing.

Violators would also be required to produce proof that you rectified the issue by providing a car seat or booster seat, which you would need to present to the judge during the hearing.

Exercising Caution

car-seat

A number of adults have, honestly, decided to forego the use of car seats or booster seats since they find it time consuming while others keep having issues during installation. Michigan has responded to this concern by training local authorities in installation procedures (regardless of the brand).

Go one step further and add a “Baby on Board” or “Children on Board” sign on your vehicle’s rear end window. It might not wholly prevent accidents from happening, but it does caution other drivers to be more careful around your vehicle.

Leave Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *